Sync Pro gives you total freedom to choose what files and folders to download and how to do it. You can sync an entire folder, sync just a few files (while keeping the rest as placeholders) or you can sync nothing at all and keep the folder available for syncing in the future.
** IMPORTANT: Selective Sync can be switched ON/OFF in Sync Pro only.
In Sync Free on Win/Mac/Linux/WebUI Selective Sync is always OFF.
TURNING "SELECTIVE SYNC" ON/OFF
Sync gives you 3 places where syncing mode can be configured:
1. When you first connect a folder
2. After a folder is connected
3. When a folder is automatically added from one of your linked devices
Let's take a look at each of these in more detail:
1. When connecting to a folder:
When you first connect to a folder via a shared link/key, you'll see a "Selective Sync" toggle on the "Connect to folder" dialog. If you leave it OFF, this device will immediately start downloading all the content in the folder (including full contents of any subfolders and nested folders). If you turn it ON, Sync will only receive placeholder information, which you can use to sync the full files later.
2. After the folder is already connected: using Selective Sync from the folder options menu:
Using the Selective Sync toggle for specific folders is quite convenient in situations when you have a lot of folders synced in the Selective Sync mode (that is, instead of copying all files to your disk, Sync moves only very small placeholders), but you need to sync some folders to your device in full. If these folders contain dozens of files, clicking on each and every item in order to get it copied would be a hassle. In this situation, switching "Selective Sync" OFF for a specific folder will save you time by automatically syncing 100% of data.
3. When you link your devices (using the My Devices feature):
When you link your devices with one identity, Sync will prompt for one of the three synchronization modes. The selected mode will be applied to all newly added folders. Pick Selective Sync mode so that "Selective sync" option is enabled automatically when a folder arrives from one of the linked devices.
Once Selective Sync is enabled, all new files will be presented as .rsl placeholders. Current ones will remain as they are. See here for details about managing placeholders.