Help Center


Can I connect two pre-populated pre-existing folders?


Yes, you can. Depending on whether your pre-populated folders are located on linked devices or on devices with different Sync identities there's a special workflow. When peers connect to each other, Sync will rescan the files, hash them and compare
- same files with same hashes will not be re-synced;
- if same files have different hash (for example, different content) the one with latest timestamp will be synced replacing the file on remote peer;
- other files will be just merged into folder tree and exchanged. 

The following instruction works for mobiles and step will be basically the same, though the UI views will be different from the examples below.

On devices with different identities:

Device 1 - Source
Choose a folder you wish to synchronise and add it to Sync, click on "Share" button, copy the link or key and deliver it to Computer 2:

Device 2 - Destination

Take the key/link delivered from Computer 1 and paste it to "Manual connection" field. When prompted for folder location, point it to the already existing directory and click "Connect".

13.png


If the folder's not empty, you'll see a message asking for confirmation. Click 'OK' to connect two folders. 

If device2 is an Android mobile, disable Simple mode in settings prior to connecting. More details here.
 

On linked devices:

Before starting, go to "My devices" -> This Device and switch the mode to Disconnected.  Alternatively, you can keep it in Connected or Synced, however, once the added folder appears on Computer 2, you should disconnect it.

Device 1 - Source
Select a folder that you want to synchronise and add it to Sync.
 
Device2 - Destination
The folder will appear there as "disconnected". Click to connect the folder and when prompted for folder location pick the existing directory. 
 

If the folder's not empty, you'll see a message asking for confirmation. Click 'OK' to connect two folders. 

If device2 is a mobile disable Simple mode in settings prior to connecting. More details here.

Note:
When using mobile's backup with linked devices, the share will always appear connected on destination desktops regardless of the syncing mode. You need to disconnect the backup share and reconnect it. 

Was the article helpful? Yes / No, send feedback on article Thanks!


Please note that we won't mail you back. This is just purely feedback on the article above. If you need help from our Support Team, please use the "Contact Support" link at the top of the page.