Help Center


Can I connect two pre-populated folders?


Yes, you can. Depending on whether your pre-populated folders are located on linked devices or on devices with different Sync identities there's a special workflow. When peers connect to each other, Sync will rescan the files and compare them - files with same hashed will not be re-synced. 

On devices with different identities:

Computer 1: 
Choose a folder you wish to add:


Add it to Sync, click on "Share" button, copy the link or key and deliver  and deliver it to Computer 2:

Computer 2:
There is a pre-populated folder on computer 2 named 'Drafts' containing the same files:
   

Take the key/link delivered from Computer 1 and paste it to "Manual connection" field. When prompted for folder location, point it to the already existing directory and click "Connect".
You'll see a message asking for confirmation.


Hit 'OK' to connect the two folders. 
 

On linked devices:

Add a folder on Computer 1.
Computer 2 should be switched into Disconnected mode and the folder will appear there as "disconnected". Alternatively, you can keep it in Connected or Synced, however, once the added folder appears on Computer 2, you should disconnect it. Click to connect the folder and when prompted for folder location pick the directory with pre-populated files. 

You'll see a message asking for confirmation.


Hit 'OK' to connect the two folders. 

Was the article helpful? Yes / No, send feedback on article Thanks!


Please note that we won't mail you back. This is just purely feedback on the article above. If you need help from our Support Team, please use the "Contact Support" link at the top of the page.