Help Center


How to activate/remove a license/seat?


ACTIVATING A LICENSE      

This article describes how to activate a license/shared seat on different desktop platforms.
For a step-by-step guide on getting Sync PRO, click here.

Once the billing information is entered and payment is processed, you'll get an e-mail confirming your purchase. Click the btskey file provided in the e-mail and download it:

10.png

Sync Home Pro license can be applied to several Sync devices using the key. Sync Business license can be applied to only one Sync identity. Other devices that are linked to this identity get updated to Pro. Other devices not linked to this identity are to be updated to Pro via shared seat (see below). Do not apply the business license key to several Sync identities!


On Windows and Mac simply double click on the downloaded license key, or right click and pick to "Open with Resilio Sync". Another way is to open Sync UI, go to Menu -> Licenses -> Apply new key, pick the downloaded license key.

In Sync using WebUI (Linux , NAS and Windows service):  only manual connection is possible, therefore, to activate your Sync, please follow these steps***:

1. Download the license key file. 
2. Open it in text editor.
3. Copy the chain of symbols and paste it into the manual connection box ("+" -> Enter key or link). 
4. Click 'Next'.

 

To activate license on a headless computer, run the commands

Linux: ./rslsync --license /path/to/Sync_Home.btskey
Windows: "Resilio Sync.exe" /license C:\path\to\Sync_Home.btskey

If this is a clean installation of Sync and you haven't yet created identity, you need to first create it with --identity (/identity) param. 
 
USING SYNC FAMILY PRO LICENSE PACK
 
Basically Family Pro - is a pack of Home Pro licenses that can be applied on devices of 5 family members. Just apply the received license key the way described above.

ACTIVATING A SHARED SEAT

To activate a seat, you can do one of the following:
- Click on the link provided in the email sent by a seat sharer. (Win, Mac)
- Copy and paste the link into "+"->"Enter key or link" manual connection box. (All platforms)

To learn more about sharing seats, click here.

REMOVING A LICENSE or SEAT

To remove a license go to Licenses menu and click "Remove license" button. Note, removing Business license from License Owner does not remove it from License Users. Same way - removing a shared seat will not affect other License Users and License Owner

11.png

 

 

Was the article helpful? Yes / No, send feedback on article Thanks!


Please note that we won't mail you back. This is just purely feedback on the article above. If you need help from our Support Team, please use the "Contact Support" link at the top of the page.