Help Center


Can Resilio team see and block/remove any Sync folders?


Resilio Sync utilizes peer-to-peer technology to share files between devices, which means that all the data that is transferred via Sync is stored on users’ equipment only. This mechanism provides more control over your data and a much higher level of security. At the same time, peer-to-peer technology requires you to exercise additional caution while picking your data recipients. Since all the transfer occurs between you and other peers - Resilio neither hosts nor caches any content - there’s no way to modify or remove your data other than modifying or removing it on your device(s) and the device(s) of your peer(s).

 

The entire process of sharing occurs directly between you and other users with next to zero involvement of Resilio.

Link generation as well as link sharing take place on users’ devices; folder links are passed manually - Resilio does not provide any facility for folder link distribution, hence it has no access to/control over links or folders shared. Moreover, Resilio server doesn’t see any link-specific information:

 

A typical Sync sharing link is structured as follows:

https://link.resilio.com/#f=<folder name><folder metadata><hashes><product metadata>

All the link-specific information is placed after the ‘#’ sign, which means none of it is sent from the browser to the Resilio server. The information after the ‘#’ sign is only available locally. Learn more about this.

Peers use multiple, redundant mechanisms for finding each other. By virtue of their nature these mechanisms are decentralized and cannot be controlled, which makes it impossible for Resilio to interfere and prevent users from finding certain peers. 

Although by default Sync does its best to establish direct connection between peers (in fact, more than 99% of all content is transferred directly from peer to peer), sometimes such connection isn’t possible and Sync may resort to the use of Resilio Relay Server. Even in this situation the Relay can’t examine the data going through it because this data is encrypted end-to-end using encryption keys that are only known to the peers involved. 

Taking into account the above mentioned facts, Resilio cannot control link/folder distribution, nor can it remove the content of any of Sync users’ folders.

It’s worth noting that the architecture of Sync 2.x provides an unprecedented level of security. Complemented with a few simple safety precautions taken by the user, it will turn Sync into a powerful tool capable of syncing data quickly, efficiently and in a most secure way.

 

Know the person you share your folders with.

Make sure the person you share your data with is who he/she claims to be. To do so,

  • ask for approvals: enable approval option (appears in the Share window) for new peers;
  • view fingerprints: with sensitive data, you can view peers’ fingerprints to make extra sure your folder is going to be shared with the right person.
Was the article helpful? Yes / No, send feedback on article Thanks!


Please note that we won't mail you back. This is just purely feedback on the article above. If you need help from our Support Team, please use the "Contact Support" link at the top of the page.